Brain Booster for UPSC & State PCS Examination (Topic: European Union: LGBTIQ Freedom Zone)

Brain Booster for UPSC & State PCS Examination

Current Affairs Brain Booster for UPSC & State PCS Examination

Topic: European Union: LGBTIQ Freedom Zone

European Union: LGBTIQ Freedom Zone

Why in News?

  • Through a resolution, the European Parliament has symbolically declared the entire 27-member bloc as an "LGBTIQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, intersex and queer) Freedom Zone".
  • A majority of countries in the European Union (EU) (23/27) recognise same-sex unions, with 16 legally recognising same-sex marriage.


  • The move comes as a response against member state Poland’s controversial move to create more than 100 “LGBTIQ ideology-free zones” around the country since 2019, and more generally against the backsliding of LGBTIQ rights in some EU countries, particularly in Poland and Hungary.

Situation of Poland and Hungary

  • A majority of countries in the EU (23/27) recognise same-sex unions, with 16 legally recognising same-sex marriage. Poland is part of the small minority that does not acknowledge such relationships.
  • Poland is among the countries that bar same-sex couples from adopting children together, although many such couples get around this rule by applying to adopt as single parents.
  • Poland has now announced plans to close the loophole by introducing background checks on applicants.
  • Hungary has also been pushing forward a conservative Catholic social agenda. In November 2020, the town of Nagykáta adopted a resolution banning the ‘‘dissemination and promotion of LGBTIQ propaganda’’.

Key Points of Resolution

  • Now, LGBTIQ persons everywhere in the EU would enjoy the freedom to live and publicly show their sexual orientation and gender identity without fear of intolerance, discrimination or persecution, and authorities at all levels of governance across the EU.
  • The law will protect and promote equality and the fundamental rights of all, including LGBTIQ persons.

About European Union

  • The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union of 27 member states that are located primarily in Europe.
  • The EU has developed an internal single market through a standardised system of laws that apply in all member states in matters, where members have agreed to act as one.
  • 19 of these countries use EURO as their official currency. 8 EU members (Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Sweden,) do not use the euro.
  • The 7 important decision-making bodies of the European Union are listed as European Parliament, European Council, European Commission, Council of the European Union, Court of Justice of the European Union, European Central Bank and European Court of Auditors.

LGBT Rights in India

  • In 2018, Supreme Court ruled that consensual homosexual acts would no longer constitute a crime. It reversed Section 377 of the Indian Penal Code.
  • The Parliament has passed the Transgender Persons (Protection of Rights) Act, 2019 but it is very problematic as it does not allow for selfdetermination of transgender status and provide no reservation status in education or employment.
  • In the case of Navtej Singh Johar v. Union of India, the Supreme Court ruled that the Indian Constitution bans discrimination based on sexual orientation via the category of "sex".
  • Similarly, in the case of National Legal Services Authority v. Union of India, the Supreme Court held that discrimination on the basis of gender identity is constitutionally prohibited.